Organized by:
 The International Orthopterists' Society
 China Agricultural University (CAU)
 Yunnan Academy of Agricultural Sciences

 Co-organized by:
 Yunnan University
 Yunnan Provincial Society of
 Microbiology (YSM)
 Yunnan Provincial Society of
 Entomology (YSE)

About the Orthopterists' Society


The Orthopterists' Society (formerly the Pan American Acridological Society) is an international scientific organization devoted to facilitating communication among those interested in Orthoptera and related organisms, and to encourage collaborative research and control programs in Orthopterology among countries of the World. The Society currently has 440 members from 60 countries on six continents. We foster research and publication in all aspects of Orthopterology. The Society publishes the refereed Journal of Orthoptera Research which appears twice a year. Graduate students and young researchers can apply for the Orthopterists' Society Research Fund.

The Society was founded in 1976 by some 35 orthopterists who met at San Martín de los Andes, Argentina. Its Constitution and Bylaws were adopted in 1977, and it was accorded tax-exempt status by the United States government in 1978. The meetings held since San Martín have been at Bozeman (USA), Maracay (Venezuela), Saskatoon (Canada), Valsaín (Spain), Hilo (USA), Cairns (Australia), Montpellier (France), Canmore (Canada), and Antalya (TurkeyA complete list of meetings and presidents of the Orthopterists' Society can be seen here.) .

The most recent recent meeting was held in Antalya, Turkey in June 2009. In addition to the quadrennial international meetings, the Society has hosted an annual symposium at the annual Entomological Society of America meetings since 1987, and also has sponsored or supported several international (FAO workshop on “The future of biopesticides in Desert Locust management”, Senegal 2007) and national meetings on Orthopterology (Brazilian Symposia on Orthoptera, Brazil 2006, 2008, 2010).

The complete Constitution and By-Laws of the Orthopterists' Society (as revised November 20, 2005) can be downloaded from the society website.

Society's Officers
President: Maria-Marta Cigliano, División Entomología, Museo de La Plata, Universidad Nacional de la Plata, Paseo del Bosque S/N, 1900 La Plata, Argentina

Past President: Michel Lecoq, CIRAD, UPR Bioagresseurs: analyse et maîtrise du risque, TA A-106/D, 34398 Montpellier Cedex 5, France

Past President: Theodore J. Cohn, Insect Division, Museum of Zoology, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, 48109 USA

President-elect: Michael Samways, Department of Conservation Ecology & Entomology Faculty of Agrisciences Stellenbosch University, Private Bag XI Matieland 7602 Stellenbosch, South Africa

Executive Director: Charles Bomar, University of Wisconsin-Stout, Menomonie, WI 54751, USA

Treasurer: David Eades, Illinois Natural History Survey, University of Illinois, USA

JOR Managing Co-editors: Glenn K. Morris, University of Toronto at Mississauga, 3359 Mississauga Rd, Mississauga ON L5L 1C6, Canada; Doug Whitman, 4120 Biology, Illinois State University, Normal, IL 61790, USA

Editorial Assistant: Nancy Morris, University of Toronto at Mississauga, 3359 Mississauga Road North, Mississauga Ont. L5L 1C6, Canada

Manager Orthopterists' Society Website: Piotr Naskrecki, Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University, 26 Oxford Street, Cambridge, MA, 02138 USA

Associate Manager OS Website: David C.F. Rentz, 19 Butler Dr. Kuranda, Queensland, Australia

Editor Metaleptea: Hojun Song, Department of Biology, University of Central Florida, 4000 Central Florida Blvd., Orlando, FL 32816 USA

Metaleptea Associate Editor: Sam Heads, Illinois Natural History Survey, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Orthoptera Species File Officer: David Eades, Illinois Natural History Survey, University of Illinois, USA

Regional representatives:
Mohammad Kamil Usmani (South Asia)
Marcos Lhano (South and Central America)
Dave Hunter (Australia, New Zealand and Pacific islands)
Dan Johnson (North America)
M.A. Ould Babah (North and Sahelian Africa)
Corinna Bazelet (Sub-Saharan Africa)
Michael Sergeev (East Europe – North and Central Asia)
Battal Çiplak (Middle East - Caucasus)
Seiji Tanaka (Japan)
Klaus Riede (West Europe)
Zhang Long (China, North Korea, South Korea, Taiwan)